Tag Archives: Scripture

Devotions and Readings for September 28-October 4

Devotion: Use this resource at home to guide your household’s daily devotions. You can do this alone, as a couple, as a family; in the morning, during the day, or at night. Find a routine that works best for you. … Continue reading

Posted in Devotionals, Weekly Readings | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Readings and Reflections for August 31-September 6

United Methodism 101: The Wesleyan Quadrilateral Scripture: 2 Timothy 3:14–17 Tradition: 2 Thessalonians 2:13–15 Experience: John 4:28–30, 39–42 Reason: Proverbs 2:1–6 Key Verse: “All scripture is inspired by God and is useful for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for … Continue reading

Posted in Weekly Readings | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Readings and Reflections for August 24-31

August 24, 2014 United Methodism 101: Sanctifying Grace Matthew 5:43–48; 1 Peter 1:13–16 Key Verse: “it is written, ‘You shall be holy, for I am holy.’” Background: John Wesley, the founder of Methodism, identified three forms of God’s grace: Prevenient … Continue reading

Posted in Weekly Readings | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Readings and Reflections for August 17-24

August 17, 2014 United Methodism 101: Justifying Grace: Romans 3:21-26 Key Verse: “…all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God; they are now justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ … Continue reading

Posted in Weekly Readings | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Readings for August 10-17, 2014

This week we started a short series on United Methodist beliefs.  We began by talking about Prevenient Grace.  Grace is the free, unmerited favor, love and mercy God offers us as a gift.  Prevenient grace is that love, favor at … Continue reading

Posted in Weekly Readings | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Readings for August 3-10, 2014

Sunday, July 27, 2014 Paul in Rome Acts 28:16–31 Monday, August 4 Jesus heals a woman and a girl Matthew 9:18–26 Tuesday, August 5 Simon’s Mother-in-law Healed Mark 1:29–34 Wednesday, August 6 Jesus Heals a Man’s Hand Mark 3:1–5 Thursday, … Continue reading

Posted in Weekly Readings | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Readings for July 27-August 3, 2014

Sunday, July 27, 2014 Paul in Rome Acts 28:16–31 Monday, July 28 The Reason I Am a Prisoner Ephesians 2:19–3:4 Tuesday, July 29 A Life Worthy… Ephesians 4:1–6 Wednesday, July 30 You Hold Me in Your Heart Philippians 1:1–11 Thursday, … Continue reading

Posted in Weekly Readings | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Readings for July 20-27, 2014

Sunday, July 20, 2014 Paul Arrested Acts 21:26–36; 22:23–29 Monday, July 21 Paul sent to Caesarea Acts 23:12-24 Tuesday, July 22 Paul’s Testimony before Felix Acts 24:10-23 Wednesday, July 23 Paul Appeals to the Emperor Acts 24:17-25:12 Thursday, July 24 … Continue reading

Posted in Weekly Readings | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Readings for July 13-20, 2014

Sunday, July 13, Sermon at Athens, Acts 17:16-31 Monday, July 14 Paul in Corinth Acts 18:1-11 Tuesday, July 15 Paul returns to Antioch Acts 18:18-23 Wednesday, July 16 Paul in Ephesus Acts 19:1-10 Thursday, July 17 Paul Speaks with the … Continue reading

Posted in Weekly Readings | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Readings for July 6-13, 2014

Sunday, July 6 Paul and Silas In Prison Acts 16:16-34 Monday, July 7, Paul and Silas Released, Acts 16:35-40 Tuesday, July 8, Paul Writes to the Christians in Philippi Philippians 1:1-11 Wednesday, July 9,  Paul and Silas in Thessalonica, Acts … Continue reading

Posted in Weekly Readings | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment